Sunday, June 13, 2010

The Acorn -- No Ghost

Formed in 2003, Ottawa folk-rockers, The Acorn, have made great strides in the Canadian independent music scene. Under Rolf Klausener; head song-writer, vocalist and guitarist, the five piece outfit have toured across Canada a couple of times and earned themselves a Polaris Prize nomination in 2008 for the critically acclaimed album, Glory Hope Mountain.

The band's latest effort, No Ghost, was released on June 1st 2010 via Paperbag Records. The album, recorded in rural Quebec, is described by the band as, "...a fitting soundtrack to both the tranquility of the country, and the sodium-lamp lit romance of city nights".

Check out Vish Khanna's (CBCRadio3/Exclaim!) review of No Ghost and interview with the band on

For more info about the band, check out their site and MySpace. To purchase No Ghost, visit iTunes, Paperbag Records or ideally, your local independent record store.

Torontonians have the chance to check out a free performance by the band at MTV Live. Check out the details here.

Tour Dates:


June 18th -- Peterborough, ON -- The Red Dog

June 19th -- Montreal, QU -- Club Lambi

June 23rd -- Guelph, ON -- Hillside Music Festival

Photo Credit: Via Paperbag Records

Rose Palmieri

Labels: , ,

Bookmark and Share
Share on Facebook

Keep in Touch:


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home